Posted in DIY

DIY Greeting Cards

A very simple and easy to make DIY greeting cards made with watercolor painting.

 

Have you ever experienced liking the cover but the wordings doesn’t fit your purpose when buying greeting cards?  There are times when you want to send someone a card or postcard just to let them know they’re in your thoughts but the ones you find either have nice print but wrong message inside or vice versa.  There are of course blank cards but neither those appeals to you.  My mother in-law loves flowers, something we both share.  But some of the cards i see with good floral print are either for sympathy or anniversaries.  That brought me into thinking how nice it would be if i can get to pick the print on the card and choose the wordings in it myself – and there goes my watercolor and calligraphy journey. 🙂

Initially, i started learning the art of calligraphy to use as prints for my canvas bags and pouch business.  The personalize approach and catchy, witty words printed on canvas are fast becoming popular not just for personal use but also as souvenirs on different events.  Then on I’ve also realized the many uses of calligraphy even in the form of art.  There are those who paints nice floral and write a beautiful quote next to it or even just the word itself are artistically written that it’s worthy of a frame.  So i thought why not make my own DIY greeting card? As for the watercolor art, there are several tutorial you can find all over the net that teaches how to paint in watercolor for beginners.  The one I made here in fact is too simple you can guess how I did it just by looking at it.

First, i tried to paint the design on a separate watercolor paper just to see if this is something I like or I can do.  You may also use a regular paper for this.


Then i started painting it on my Strathmore cold press, 300 gsm watercolor card.  You may also use an ordinary paper but what i like most about this product is that its pre-cut already which is a relief from someone who can’t cut straight and don’t have a bone folder/creasing tool.  Also the extra thickness of the card is very ideal for watercolor and even acrylic painting which are my favorite mediums. It also comes with envelopes so this is really a complete package 😉 I’m sure there are still other brands of watercolor card you can try but this is just the one i like to use.


For the calligraphy i use my Tombow Fudenosuke pen in black.  For the painting or illustration I used Sennelier watercolor.

So there goes my 1st DIY greeting card, with the print and message I like – handmade with love.  ❤️


Criz 

Author:

Hobbyist. Hoarder. Happy and Blessed ♥

Leave a Reply

